Vacation Part 1: Apple Bacon Coleslaw

Hello, Blog!  Long time, no see.  It’s been awhile since I’ve posted, and with good reason.  Tyler and I have been so busy with fun things.  Mainly our vacation (aka the southeastern tour).  Filling you in on vacation is going to take multiple blog posts.  Too hot for one blog post to handle!

So, I thought I’d start at the beginning.  We left Nashville on Saturday too early to talk about.  We drove to my parents new house on Lake Blalock in the upstate of SC.  I am so excited for my parents.  They have their dream lake house, and it’s pretty awesome.  I can’t help but give thanks to God for how good He’s been to our family.  Just a few short years ago, my mom was in the hospital for a massive stroke, learning to walk and talk again.  Now my parents are loving life on the lake!  They mostly spend their days taming wild lake animals, fishing, and floating.  While we were there we were able to visit with some of my family, and some of my all time favorite family friends:  The Griners.  Jenna Griner and I have been besties since DARE camp in 5th grade.  Her mom, Sue, is like my second mom.  Mainly because her and my mom are both equally a good kind of crazy.  Jenna’s dad (we’ll call him lil country) is always a good time, along with brother Charlie and pup Oliver.  

Image

Here are Tyler and Oliver enjoying the dock!

We had the Griners over for a summer cookout. My contribution and new favorite summer-time side dish:

APPLE BACON COLESLAW

This is a party in your mouth.  So many different flavors come together to make an out-of -this-world addition to your cookout.  

Ingredients:

1/4 cup cider vinegar

1 cup mayonnaise

1/3 cup honey

2 teaspoons kosher salt

1/4 cup pulp free orange juice

 juice from 1/2 fresh lemon

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 bag of pre-shredded cabbage

1/2 pack of bacon fried crispy then broken up into small pieces

1 bunch scallions, thinly sliced

4 firm apples, peeled, cored and shredded (or chopped)

 

Mix all ingredients together and let sit overnight.  Stir before serving.

This is what mine looked like:

Image

 

Stay tuned for more highlights of our southeastern tour!! Happy Monday!

Meredith

Leave a Reply

