4 months!

Today Tyler and I have been married for 4 months.  For the 4th time in a row, he’s had to remind me that it’s my anniversary (oops!).  It has been a fun and busy couple of weeks! I am so thankful to GOd for providing everything we need in our new city.  Nashville is definitely starting to feel like “home.”  Here are some highlights of what’s been going on with us as of lately:

 

Last week, we were visited by these precious poodles!

ImageWe were so excited to see Elizabeth and Joel!  They were passing through town on their way to Memphis for her brother’s graduation.  We went to a fancy steakhouse called Stockyard and Honky Tonk Central with them and Liz’s fam.  Such a fun bunch of people.  Love them!

This past weekend we went to ATL to visit with Kay Kay and Ed.  We had a blast just hanging out with them and some other ATL family.  We hadn’t seen them since the wedding, so we decided to meet in the middle.  We also made our first trip to IKEA, which is not for sissies.  We came home with this cool new bookshelf, our first furniture purchase as a married couple!

Image

 

Kay Kay also brought me some old Rachel Ray cookbooks (so sweet!).  I’d never looked at a Rachel Ray cookbook, mainly because she gets on my nerves on TV and her cookbook covers are ugly.  BUT, I underestimated her.  Almost all of her recipes require only a few and simple ingredients, and can be made quickly!  I tried a lemon pepper chicken recipe.  It turned out great!  You can find the recipe here:

http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/lemon-pepper-chicken/

ImageYUMMY!

This week we started a new book in our church home group:  “Life Together”  My Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  It’s all about the importance of Christian community.  It’s a harder read than our last Tim Keller book.  I feel smarter when I read it (however, Tyler says it makes him feel dumber :)).  I’ll let you know what we learn!  

This week was our friend Lauren’s 24th birthday!  We celebrated by going to a restaurant in our soon-to-be-neighborhood called M.L.Rose.  I was inspired by something I saw on my friend Tyler’s blog (chasingtulips.com):  Save jars (like jam jars, etc.) and when you need to give someone a gift, put flowers in a jar you’ve saved and give them the flowers and the jar to keep.  I tried this and it was so much fun (for me anyway!).

Image

 

On Friday, I took my kiddos to the Nashville zoo.  It was my first time there.  I think I enjoyed it more than they did!  Definitely going back without kids.

Image

 

Oh, did I mention that I’m writing this blog post from beautiful Rosemary Beach??!!  The only thing that would make it better is if my hubs was here with me, and I wasn’t babysitting!  But highlight:  I will get to see the wonderful Lulie Wallace this week!  Woo Hoo for Charleston Friends!

Image

 

Tyler is in Hilton Head Island this weekend playing golf with some old and new friends.  We are so thankful for all of our friends!

That’s all for now!  Someone in Nashville please take care of Tyler while I’m gone!

Love,

Meredith

Leave a Reply

