Lately…

Let me catch you up to speed on what I’ve been cooking lately…..

Image

 

Brunch is by far our favorite meal!  I tried a recipe from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook:  Homemade (YES, HOMEMADE) chive drop biscuits, summer tomato salad, goat cheese whipped cream.  YUM.

Image

 

French Toast with blueberries and bananas.  SO EASY.  SO TASTY.

Image

 

Dinners out on the porch are our favorite.  Especially this time of year when it’s not too hot yet.  Here we have lemon butter shrimp over a bed of alfredo linguine, and roasted summer zucchini and squash.

Image

 

This is my new favorite thing to cook…Pork Chops!!  We eat a lot of chicken or ground turkey, and get tired of it sometimes.  Pork chops are a great alternative.  These pork-chops were rubbed down with my dad’s secret bbq dry rub.  I hope to inherit the recipe one day.  Served with white rice and roasted okra.

Image

 

Chicken and Cheese Tortellini Cesar Salad.  This is inspired by the dish at Five Loaves, one of my favorite Cafes in Charleston.  This meal literally took 8 minutes to make.  SO DELICIOUS and (somewhat) healthy.

With all of this amazing food, you might think Tyler and I have gained hundreds of pounds together.  Don’t worry, we’ve been working out to work it off (well, he works out more than me:)).  

What I need now is someone to cook for!  Nashville friends,  come over!  I want to feed you!  We have been blessed by some of Tyler’s co-workers.  They are lots of fun!  I actually had a few of them over for a little dinner party the other night:

Image

 

Gosh, I love entertaining!

God has also blessed us with an amazing church community.  Through an acquaintance, we were invited to a small group Bible Study that meets on Wednesday nights.  It has been such an amazing group.  We are currently studying “The Prodigal God”  by Tim Keller.  It gives you a totally new perspective on the parable of the lost son, Jesus, and yourself.  Awesome spiritual discussions.  AND, we all have so much fun hanging out together.  So far we’ve gone Contra Dancing, out for drinks, the boys tried out a local distillery, and had Sunday brunch at one of the girl’s houses.  This community has been such a blessing to us.  It also means I have more people to cook for.  The best part…  when Tyler and I move into our new town home, we will be just blocks away from lots of the group members.  Yay!  My cup runneth over.

One thought on “Lately…

Leave a Reply

